现金
222032 元 
精华
帖子
注册时间
2001-11-10 
最后登录
2023-5-7 

元帅勋章 功勋会员 小花 管理员或超版 荣誉之星 勤于助新 龙的传人 大财主勋章 白衣天使 旺旺勋章 心爱宝宝 携手同心 驴版 有声有色 东北版 美食大使 幸福四叶草 翡翠丝带 健康之翼 幸福风车 恭喜发财 人中之龙

发表于 2002-6-1 16:29
The Scientist 16[11]:12, May. 27, 2002 OPINION: East is East, ... By T.V. Rajan by Anthony Canamucio I have lived in this country somewhat longer than in the country of my birth. There are times when I wonder, as is probably true of many expatriates, what I really am. Am I Indian, American, or some bastardized version that is neither? There is not very much in my behavior now that is completely Indian, at least to the casual observer. But at a deeper level, I realize that my reactions to many situations seem to be informed more by my cultural heritage, than by the culture in which I live. I think I had glimmerings of this perception many years ago when I was a graduate student. A group of us went to see the first episode of Star Wars. When we left the theater, one of my fellow graduate students remarked, in an awestruck tone, "I did not realize that the movie dealt with such classical themes." I looked at her quizzically, wondering what she could mean. She returned my look and said, "You know? Classical themes like the eternal struggle between Good and Evil?" As I thought about this over the next several days, I realized that this concept of an eternal fight between "good" and "evil" was not inherent in my view of the world. Indeed, the ideas that there are some entities that embody goodness and others that embody evil, that these exist in eternal conflict with each other, with the good almost inevitably winning at the end, were not ones that had been inculcated in me. I realize that even after all my years in the United States, surrounded by the Judeo-Christian schema of a dichotomous universe, I have remained uncomfortable with dualistic doctrines. Most Americans are probably familiar with the famous yin-yang icon of Chinese-Buddhist origin—a circle containing dark (yin) and light (yang